Our Leadership Team

Board of Directors

Our board is made up of seven members and is chaired by Scott Balfour.


Scott Balfour

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Mr. Balfour was appointed Chair of the board of directors in May 2016. He has been Chief Operating Officer, Northeast and Caribbean since March 1, 2016. Prior to that, he had been Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer since April 16, 2012. From May 2011 to April 2012, Mr. Balfour was President of Ensimian Capital Corporation. From September 2005 to January 2011, he was President and Chief Financial Officer of Aecon Group Inc., a Canadian publicly traded construction and infrastructure development company.


James Eisenhauer

Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Mr. Eisenhauer returned to Nova Scotia Power’s Board in May 2019 as Lead Independent Director. He previously served on the Board between 2008 and 2016, and as Chair from 2011 to 2016. Mr. Eisenhauer is the President and CEO of AGL Group Holdings Limited (formerly ABCO Group Limited). He is a Professional Engineer and a Chartered Professional Accountant. Committed to the success of our region, he served as a member of the Board of Nova Scotia Business Inc. from 2005 to January 2013. Currently, he is a member of the Board of Stelia Aerospace North America Inc., a member of the Advisory Board of Atlantic Industries Limited, and a board member of Develop Nova Scotia.


Wayne O'Connor

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Mr. O'Connor has been with the Emera companies since 2003. Currently he is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Nova Scotia Power; a role he assumed in October 2019. Prior to this role, Wayne has held a series of senior leadership positions in Emera companies, including Executive Vice President, Business Development and Strategy of Emera Inc., Executive Vice President, Operations for Nova Scotia Power, and President and Chief Operating Officer of Emera Energy.


Lee Bragg

Fall River, Nova Scotia

Mr. Bragg has been a board member since 2010. He has been CEO of Eastlink, a cable and communications company, and its associated communications companies since 1999. Prior to 1999, Mr. Bragg held various management positions with the Bragg Group of Companies.


Sandra Greer

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Ms. Greer has been on the board of directors since 2014. She is the former President and CEO of AMIRIX Systems Inc./Vemco (2002-2012), a company engaged in the design, manufacturing and worldwide export of underwater acoustic marine tracking devices. Prior to AMIRIX, Ms. Greer held various management positions with Bristol Communications and MTT/Aliant (now Bell Aliant).


Raymond Ivany

Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Mr. Ivany has been a board member since 2011. He has been President and Vice Chancellor of Acadia University since April 2009 and from 2007 to 2009 was Chair of the Workers’ Compensation Board of Nova Scotia. Mr. Ivany was President and CEO of Nova Scotia Community College from 1998 to 2005 and, prior to that, served as Executive Vice-President at the University College of Cape Breton.


J. Mark Rodger

Toronto, Ontario

Mr. Rodger joined the board of directors in 2018. He is the Toronto Regional Co-Chair of the Electricity Markets Group at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, and a senior partner in the Toronto office. For over 25 years, Mr. Rodger has served as counsel to a broad range of government, industrial, institutional and commercial energy consumers; local distribution and transmission companies; generators; energy retailers; out-of-province electricity importers; and, energy regulators.


Rick Janega

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Mr. Janega joined the board in May, 2018. He is Chief Operating Officer, Electric Utilities, Canada, US Northeast and Caribbean at Emera Inc. and President and CEO of Emera Newfoundland & Labrador (ENL). Rick held a series of increasingly senior roles, including Chief Operating Officer for Nova Scotia Power, overseeing transmission and distribution, fuels, generation and customer service. He began his career working in construction management, manufacturing, and the pulp and paper industry.