James Eisenhauer rejoins the Nova Scotia Power board

HALIFAX, NS – Nova Scotia Power announced today that James Eisenhauer will be returning to NSPI’s Board of Directors in the newly created role of Lead Independent Director. The establishment of this role and the addition of Mr. Eisenhauer to the Board, is an example of Emera and Nova Scotia Power’s ongoing commitment to strong governance.

Mr. Eisenhauer served on the NSPI Board between 2008 and 2016, and as Chair from 2011 to 2016. He has served on the Board of Emera Inc. since 2011 and will not be standing for re-election at Emera’s AGM in May given his new role with the NSPI Board of Directors.

“We’re grateful for Jim’s contribution over the past eight years on the Emera Board, and we are delighted to welcome him back to the Nova Scotia Power Board,” said Scott Balfour, NSPI Board Chair. “Jim is one of Nova Scotia’s most accomplished business leaders, bringing a wealth of experience and a deep understanding of Nova Scotia to our organization. We’re fortunate that we will continue to benefit from his leadership and insight as Lead Director of the Board at Nova Scotia Power.”

As Lead Director, Mr. Eisenhauer will support the Board Chair in leading governance, assume the responsibilities of the Chair during meetings when the Board Chair is not in attendance, and carry out special assignments or any functions on behalf of the Board.

Mr. Eisenhauer is the President and CEO of AGL Group Holdings Limited (formerly ABCO Group Limited). He is a Professional Engineer and a Chartered Professional Accountant. Committed to the success of our region, he served as a member of the Board of Nova Scotia Business Inc. from 2005 to January 2013. Currently, he is a member of the Board of Stelia Aerospace North America Inc., a member of the Advisory Board of Atlantic Industries Limited, and a board member of Develop Nova Scotia.

“I’m very pleased to be returning to the Nova Scotia Power Board during this exciting time for the company,” said Mr. Eisenhauer. “I look forward to supporting Nova Scotia Power in their continued commitment to customers, and to building a more sustainable future for our province.”

Mr. Eisenhauer’s appointment to the NSPI Board will be effective May 15, 2019.
Other members of Nova Scotia Power's Board include: Scott Balfour, Chair of the Board; Karen Hutt, President and CEO; Lee Bragg, Director; Sandra Greer, Director; Raymond Ivany, Director; Richard C. Janega, Director; and J. Mark Rodger, Director.